I Just Saved a Bunch of Money by Switching to No Cable

.

For the past 365 days, I haven’t had one cable bill.

Before my cable-free days, I had been using AT&T U-Verse for cable which was a breath of fresh air after switching from Time Warner Cable.  TWC looked like a big ol’ stereo receiver with a UI straight from the early 90′s.  For both services, I was paying over $100 a month for cable & internet which unfortunately is norm today.

365 days ago, I had moved into my new apartment and the only cable service available (and still is) was Time Warner.  I could have gone with satellite like a few of my neighbors did but that wasn’t an option.  I was either going to get AT&T U-Verse or no cable at all.

After constant checking of U-Verse availability in my area and eventually finding out it won’t be coming to my area, I put all my efforts into utilizing my Roku and Logitech Revue to their fullest potential.

By this time, I had already been using my Roku box in the bedroom and my Logitech Revue Google TV box in the living room for watching & streaming content from Netflix & Hulu.  I would also watch content from Crackle and Revision3 and if you haven’t checked these out yet, I highly recommend you do.  So now I was able to get most of the shows I used to watch through streaming sites and caught other shows by utilizing a pair of rabbit ears I still had laying around from my college days.  For the other few shows I couldn’t get on Netflix, Hulu or weren’t available on their website for viewing, I was able to get them through other avenues – cough cough.  Sure, I could have purchased the episodes on Amazon Instant Video (which I have used many times and is a fantastic service), but I was trying to save even more money.

So at this point, I was able to watch all of my shows I used to watch and more but still wasn’t happy.  Hulu wasn’t available on the Logitech Revue and for the shows I downloaded through other avenues, I couldn’t watch them on the Roku.  Those were problems until I came across a product called PlayOn. PlayOn allowed me to watch Hulu on my Logitech Revue and allowed me to watch the downloaded shows on my Roku … it was my pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

While things could have been more simpler by just caving in and getting cable, I truly wanted to see if I could really go an entire year without cable and get my content through other methods .  As I am typing this, I can say that I am a happy camper and looking forward to the next 365 days without a cable bill!

